Home › Home Loan › Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank Home Loan
Federal Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.5% vs 7.75%). On ₹50 lakh over 20 years that is about ₹1,84,264 less interest, or ₹768 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7.5% | 7.75% |
| EMI for ₹50 lakh, 20 years | ₹40,280 | ₹41,047 |
| Total interest | ₹46,67,118 | ₹48,51,383 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Federal Bank official page, checked on November 2026 (2026-11-01).
Source: IDFC FIRST Bank official page, checked on November 2026 (2026-11-01).
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Federal Bank or IDFC FIRST home loan?
Federal Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.5% vs 7.75%). On ₹50 lakh over 20 years that is about ₹1,84,264 less interest, or ₹768 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.