Home › Home Loan › IDFC FIRST vs Kotak
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Kotak Mahindra Bank Home Loan
Kotak Mahindra Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.6% vs 7.75%). On ₹50 lakh over 20 years that is about ₹1,10,756 less interest, or ₹461 less per month, at the starting rates.
| IDFC FIRST | Kotak | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7.75% | 7.6% |
| EMI for ₹50 lakh, 20 years | ₹41,047 | ₹40,586 |
| Total interest | ₹48,51,383 | ₹47,40,627 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | The bank advertises freedom from prepayment charges |
| Maximum tenure | - | 25 years |
Source: IDFC FIRST Bank official page, checked on November 2026 (2026-11-01).
Source: Kotak Mahindra Bank official page, checked on November 2026 (2026-11-01).
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, IDFC FIRST or Kotak home loan?
Kotak Mahindra Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.6% vs 7.75%). On ₹50 lakh over 20 years that is about ₹1,10,756 less interest, or ₹461 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.