Home › Home Loan › IDFC FIRST vs SBI
IDFC FIRST Bank vs State Bank of India Home Loan
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7.5% vs 7.75%). On ₹50 lakh over 20 years that is about ₹1,84,264 less interest, or ₹768 less per month, at the starting rates.
| IDFC FIRST | SBI | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7.75% | 7.5% |
| EMI for ₹50 lakh, 20 years | ₹41,047 | ₹40,280 |
| Total interest | ₹48,51,383 | ₹46,67,118 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Festive offer: 50% waiver in processing fees (minimum ₹5,000 + GST), valid up to 31.12.2026 |
| Prepayment | Not stated | No prepayment penalty |
| Maximum tenure | - | 30 years |
Source: IDFC FIRST Bank official page, checked on November 2026 (2026-11-01).
Source: State Bank of India official page, checked on November 2026 (2026-11-01).
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, IDFC FIRST or SBI home loan?
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7.5% vs 7.75%). On ₹50 lakh over 20 years that is about ₹1,84,264 less interest, or ₹768 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.