Home › Education Loan › Canara Bank vs SBI
Canara Bank vs State Bank of India Education Loan
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 7.5%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹62,239 less interest, or ₹519 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Canara Bank | SBI | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7.5% | 7% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹23,740 | ₹23,222 |
| Total interest | ₹8,48,842 | ₹7,86,604 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Canara Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: State Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Canara Bank or SBI education loan?
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 7.5%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹62,239 less interest, or ₹519 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.