Home › Education Loan › ICICI Bank vs SBI
ICICI Bank vs State Bank of India Education Loan
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 8.5%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹1,89,053 less interest, or ₹1,575 less per month, at the starting rates.
| ICICI Bank | SBI | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 8.5% | 7% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹24,797 | ₹23,222 |
| Total interest | ₹9,75,657 | ₹7,86,604 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | No foreclosure charges | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | 15 years | - |
Source: ICICI Bank official page, checked 1 November 2026.
Source: State Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, ICICI Bank or SBI education loan?
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 8.5%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹1,89,053 less interest, or ₹1,575 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.