Home › Education Loan › PNB vs Union Bank
Punjab National Bank vs Union Bank of India Education Loan
Punjab National Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.1% vs 7.35%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹31,100 less interest, or ₹259 less per month, at the starting rates.
| PNB | Union Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7.1% | 7.35% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹23,325 | ₹23,584 |
| Total interest | ₹7,98,989 | ₹8,30,089 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Punjab National Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: Union Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, PNB or Union Bank education loan?
Punjab National Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.1% vs 7.35%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹31,100 less interest, or ₹259 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.