Home › Education Loan › SBI vs Union Bank
State Bank of India vs Union Bank of India Education Loan
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 7.35%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹43,485 less interest, or ₹362 less per month, at the starting rates.
| SBI | Union Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7% | 7.35% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹23,222 | ₹23,584 |
| Total interest | ₹7,86,604 | ₹8,30,089 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: State Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: Union Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, SBI or Union Bank education loan?
State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 7.35%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹43,485 less interest, or ₹362 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.