Home › Education Loan › Bank of Maharashtra vs Indian Bank
Bank of Maharashtra vs Indian Bank Education Loan
Bank of Maharashtra advertises the lower starting rate (7.1% vs 7.3%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹24,864 less interest, or ₹207 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Bank of Maharashtra | Indian Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7.1% | 7.3% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹23,325 | ₹23,532 |
| Total interest | ₹7,98,989 | ₹8,23,853 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Bank of Maharashtra official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: Indian Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Bank of Maharashtra or Indian Bank education loan?
Bank of Maharashtra advertises the lower starting rate (7.1% vs 7.3%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹24,864 less interest, or ₹207 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.