Home › Education Loan › Canara Bank vs Federal Bank
Canara Bank vs Federal Bank Education Loan
Canara Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.5% vs 9.75%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹2,89,643 less interest, or ₹2,414 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Canara Bank | Federal Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 7.5% | 9.75% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹23,740 | ₹26,154 |
| Total interest | ₹8,48,842 | ₹11,38,486 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Canara Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: Federal Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Canara Bank or Federal Bank education loan?
Canara Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.5% vs 9.75%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹2,89,643 less interest, or ₹2,414 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.