Home › Education Loan › Central Bank vs ICICI Bank
Central Bank of India vs ICICI Bank Education Loan
Central Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (6.95% vs 8.5%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹1,95,234 less interest, or ₹1,627 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Central Bank | ICICI Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 6.95% | 8.5% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹23,170 | ₹24,797 |
| Total interest | ₹7,80,423 | ₹9,75,657 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | No foreclosure charges |
| Maximum tenure | - | 15 years |
Source: Central Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: ICICI Bank official page, checked 1 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Central Bank or ICICI Bank education loan?
Central Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (6.95% vs 8.5%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹1,95,234 less interest, or ₹1,627 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.