Home › Education Loan › Central Bank vs PNB
Central Bank of India vs Punjab National Bank Education Loan
Central Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (6.95% vs 7.1%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹18,566 less interest, or ₹155 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Central Bank | PNB | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 6.95% | 7.1% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹23,170 | ₹23,325 |
| Total interest | ₹7,80,423 | ₹7,98,989 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Central Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: Punjab National Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Central Bank or PNB education loan?
Central Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (6.95% vs 7.1%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹18,566 less interest, or ₹155 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.
Central Bank of India details · Punjab National Bank details