Home › Education Loan › Federal Bank vs Union Bank
Federal Bank vs Union Bank of India Education Loan
Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7.35% vs 9.75%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹3,08,397 less interest, or ₹2,570 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Federal Bank | Union Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 9.75% | 7.35% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹26,154 | ₹23,584 |
| Total interest | ₹11,38,486 | ₹8,30,089 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Federal Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: Union Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Federal Bank or Union Bank education loan?
Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7.35% vs 9.75%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹3,08,397 less interest, or ₹2,570 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.