MathMyLoan Free call back
Home loan starting ratesBank of Maharashtra 7.25%Indian Bank 7.35%Canara Bank 7.40%PNB 7.45%Central Bank 7.45%SBI 7.50%Federal Bank 7.50%Kotak 7.60%IDFC FIRST 7.75%Axis Bank 8.00%ICICI Bank 8.50%HDFC Bank 8.50%

Home › Education Loan › Kotak vs SBI

Kotak Mahindra Bank vs State Bank of India Education Loan

Updated 2 November 2026Rates from official bank websitesHow we check rates

State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 11%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹5,19,397 less interest, or ₹4,328 less per month, at the starting rates.

KotakSBI
Starting interest rate11%7%
EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years₹27,550₹23,222
Total interest₹13,06,000₹7,86,604
Processing feeNot statedNot stated
PrepaymentNot statedNot stated
Maximum tenure--

Source: Kotak Mahindra Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: State Bank of India official page, checked 2 November 2026.

These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.

Get help choosing between Kotak and SBI

Share your details and a partner lender or loan advisor may call you. No fee from us.

Shared only with partner lenders or loan advisors, and only with your consent.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper, Kotak or SBI education loan?

State Bank of India advertises the lower starting rate (7% vs 11%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹5,19,397 less interest, or ₹4,328 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.

Kotak Mahindra Bank details · State Bank of India details

EligibilityFree call back