Home › Education Loan › Federal Bank vs Indian Bank
Federal Bank vs Indian Bank Education Loan
Indian Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.3% vs 9.75%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹3,14,633 less interest, or ₹2,622 less per month, at the starting rates.
| Federal Bank | Indian Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting interest rate | 9.75% | 7.3% |
| EMI for ₹20 lakh, 10 years | ₹26,154 | ₹23,532 |
| Total interest | ₹11,38,486 | ₹8,23,853 |
| Processing fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prepayment | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maximum tenure | - | - |
Source: Federal Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
Source: Indian Bank official page, checked 2 November 2026.
These figures use the bank's advertised starting rate. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate depending on credit score, income and loan size, so treat the result as a best case.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Federal Bank or Indian Bank education loan?
Indian Bank advertises the lower starting rate (7.3% vs 9.75%). On ₹20 lakh over 10 years that is about ₹3,14,633 less interest, or ₹2,622 less per month, at the starting rates. Your actual rate may differ from the starting rate.